Skip to content

dressed to impress

March 22, 2010

I’m not sure what it is the past few weeks but I’ve finally started to feel like a fashion blogger.

I don’t feel as nervous and embarrassed going out in something that is a bit out there.

I’ve just started to feel more confident in who I am and what I’m wearing.

It may have something to do with the fact that the last few weeks I’ve been running into the guy I like nearly every day, so I decided that it was important that I look fabulous every day. And that didn’t just mean my skirts got shorter (even though they did. Noticeably…), it meant that I made sure every day I may an effort. And that I tried something new every day. Whether it was wearing a dress as a skirt, or swapping my usual black tights for skin colour tights and socks (I love that socks are in this season- I’m wearing knee-highs right now!!), or wearing something I’d normally save for evening in the day time.

And well, I’m not sure if he appreciated it, but other people did. I had loads of compliments, but also a fair few criticisms. At lot of people have told me I try too hard. And there were days that I worried I was so dressed up that people would think I was doing the walk of shame!! But when all you have to look forward to is a day in the library, why not dress up for it? I’ve really enjoyed dressing up everyday, and if people think it’s daft then I just tell myself, ‘Im a fashion blogger. I want to stand out.’

I’ve also really enjoyed experimenting with new trends; ankle and knee socks have been everywhere this season and they’ve been a lot of fun to wear. I went out last Wednesday night in socks and high-heeled Mary Janes and I loved the look!! I’ve also been less afraid to mix patterns and prints and just have fun!! Fashion should always be about having fun.

I’ve always wanted to turn heads. And I may not be beautiful enough to do that, but if I can do it with the way I dress, I will. And it must be working; I got picked out to be photographed my my university newspaper (which I write for as much as I can!!), last week :]]

My mum always looks fantastic and she’s just as high maintenance as I am. I really don’t care that I have to get up an hour and a half before I leave the house to get ready and spent 30 minutes + doing my hair. Call me self-absorbed, called me shallow. I fully accept that. I am a nightmare. I am so demanding and high maintenance and obsessed with the way I look. But I always make the effort whether I’m going out clubbing or nipping to get milk.

So, do you dress to impress? Do you only dress to impress if there’s someone in particular you want to impress? Do you think I’m as superficial and self-absorbed as most people think I am?

I’d be really interested to hear what you think.

(outfit posts coming soon- promise!!)

Charlotte xxx

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 22:16

    It’s fantastic that you feel like this! I love turning heads- it makes me feel unique!

  2. Juicy permalink
    March 27, 2010 16:13

    As long as you don’t judge other people for not being as “high maintenance” as you are, then by all means, spend as much time as you want getting ready to go out. If it makes you feel good and you take yourself seriously as a fashionista, then its OK to put in a lot of effort into how you look. Obviously it means a lot to you. Just don’t snub others because they may put in some effort in how they look, but not as much as you.

    For me personally, I love fashion, but with my job (I work with children with special needs) I don’t dress up during the week. I love my clothes, not to mention I don’t have a lot of money to replace them, and I would be horrified if they were ruined at work. If you saw me during the week, you would noticed my hair was done but my jeans are old, with a few stains on my shirt and wearing awful awful crocs. You wouldn’t know that on the weekends I try out new things and go food shopping in a dress with fabulous new shoes with no crocs in sight! I love to dress up but I don’t think its worth it for work that and I think I would kill a child if they got something on an expensive new shirt or spilled something on expensive shoes. Good thing about crocs is that they are comfortable and easy to wash! Two must when you are on your feet all day. Its a shame they can be so ugly!

    • March 31, 2010 21:28

      I thought this was really interesting, I’m really interested in hearing other people’s opinions.
      I accept that I am high maintenance, but I understand that many other people don’t feel the same way. In fact, I find it frustrating that because I do spend a lot of time on the way I look, people think there is no more to me than that.
      I think that the job you’re doing in fantastic, and I’m sure when I’m older and no longer a student with lots of free time I won’t be able to dress the way I want to every day. I think that’s amazing that you still dress up at weekends- I’m back at work tomorrow and I have a hideous uniform which I find leaves me feeling uninspired and I no longer want to dress up when I’m not at work!! I think you are definitely right. There is definitely a time and a place for fashion. I’ll never forget the time i saw a girl I know who is a model tottering round in heels in 3 or 4 inches of snow and ice!!
      oh I can’t talk, I am the proud owner of ugg boots!! sometimes comfort is much, much more important!!
      thank you very much for your comment, it really made me think.

      xxx

Leave a Reply

