Skip to content

How do people react to you being a style blogger?

April 20, 2010

I was thinking about this yesterday on my walk to the library.

Some days, I really feel like a fashion blogger. I’m not sure what that feeling is. A pride in what I’m wearing maybe. A well put together outfit. My fur coat in itself, generally triggers this feeling.

But I’ve never really sure how other people react to be being a blogger. I’ve gotten really really into blogging recently. I am inspired constantly; I have a list of ideas that I simply haven’t had the time to get into words yet. I pick my outfits carefully every day and take some time out to update most days. I finally feel comfortable enough to refer to myself as a blogger.

But obviously, this is a new identity for me. And I do often find myself feeling a little uncomfortable telling people I’m into fashion, I’m a blogger and that I would like to be a magazine journalist.

I feel like there’s a certain ‘type’ that I need to fit into when I say these things. I feel that people expect me to look impossibly stylish at all times, dress head to to in designer labels, judge people on their clothing and wear things totally ‘out there.’ I feel like people expect to judge me on my outfits, and expect me to make a huge impact with every outfit.

This scares me a bit. To be honest, I know a bit about fashion, but I know much more about style. I read Glamour and Company and other magazines with an emphasis on the high street. I have never actually bought a copy of Vogue. I’m learning, but I have never studied fashion, and I’m learning slowly at a rate I find comfortable. I’m starting to recognise certain designer quirks, and get more into understanding designers and their clothes, but really, my focus is on the every man. For example, the reason I chose the name of this blog; I’m just another girl who likes shopping, has a bit of an interest in fashion and wants to learn more about it. I’m a student on a limited budget from what I earn on from my simple supermarket and bar jobs. I am the girl next door. I have no fashion training, or any authority on fashion. I just like having fun with my style and exploring fashion.

I also worry that people will change their opinions of me as a person when they find out I’m into fashion. I recently had a bit of a fight with someone who means one heck of a lot to me because of a joke, in which I misunderstood, which I took to insinuate that he thought my interest in fashion was shallow and conceited.

And that is what I worry about. That people think fashion equals being shallow and self centred. I worry people think I’m judgemental. I worry people think I will become obsessed with how I, and other people look.

Yes, I’ve seen The Devil Wears Prada about a dozen times, and yes, that side of fashion terrifies me. I don’t want to be one of those girls.  I just want to enjoy my interest in fashion. I want to write for a magazine one day, but not necessarily a fashion centred magazine. My dream is to write for Glamour. I’m actually more interested in the lifestyle and writing side of it.

I’ve never wanted to work at Vogue. I’m just a regular girl who likes to shop and read magazines, and one day dreams of a journalist. For people who already know me, being a style blogger hasn’t changed who I am. And those who don’t, I’m just an ordinary girl, trying to achieve a dream.

But there are times when I defend my outfit choices in my head with “but I’m a fashion blogger!!”, but I know in reality this means nothing. Walking round Selfridges today in my cheap high street outfit I felt very small and inadequate. Being a fashion blogger doesn’t come with a tattoo across your forehead. In those kinds of situations I feel the need to defend my choices, in my head of course. I probably could buy something designer, but I’d never be able to condone it. I’m a student on a student budget, and while I have two jobs I don’t have very much of an income coming in. I’d love to be able to dress designer in the future.

So, what do you think? Do people react differently to you when they find out you’re a blogger, or interested in fashion? Do you worry what people think? Would your opinion of someone change if you found out they were into fashion or blogger? Do you consider fashion to be conceited and unnecessary?

While I know that my future won’t result in saving lives or changing the world, I like to think that through fashion I can help people to feel more confident in themselves. I hope I can help women to feel good, and feel that they are not alone. I want to write about issues concerning women and our issues, not simply fashion. I don’t think fashion is life or death, but I do think the right dress or a great pair of shoes can really impact on women’s confidence. And confidence is a rare and important gift.

Charlotte xxx

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 21:59

    I’m not a fashion blogger, but I can still relate to what you’re saying here. I blog a lot about health & wellness & positivity – “Drink lots of water & eat vegetables” and all that. So when I’m scarfing down my Taco Johns, my friends aren’t afraid to call me out and tell me to take my own advice – which I like! No one is perfect, and I never claim to be an exception. I blog about what I think is ideal, but like everyone, I certainly make mistakes.

    I can also relate to this post because I read a lot of fashion blogs, so I understand style and usually dress accordingly. I have my “jeans and hoodie” days but they’re few and far between, even if I’m just sitting at home. I know that some people would consider dressing up just to go to the grocery store or chill at home “shallow” but it makes me feel good.

    • April 21, 2010 08:15

      Yeah I totally know what you mean. I am very good at giving advice, but shocking at taking it, so I find I can over unintentionally sound like a hypocrite when I give advice on here, which isn’t my aim at all.
      I think blogging on what you blog on must be quite difficult!! Everyone loves to chill out and eat junk every now and again!!
      But I suppose, same with style. I would never want to leave the house in sweatpants, but when I have a dance class and I have to, I feel a little embarrassed. But I kinda felt that before I started blogging just because going out in sweatpants just isn’t really me.
      Yeah I dress up all the time!! I love it even more if I’m just going to the shop or two the library. My friends always say I’m over-dressed but it makes me feel much happier and sexier and I like when people stare at me, even if they’re thinking “god she’s over-dressed!!”. Two guys in the library a few weeks ago just looked at me and went “god she’s a bit dressed up for the library!!” but when you have a lot of essays and exams and spend a lot of time in the library, dressing up in the one thing that makes it bearable!!

      xxx

  2. April 21, 2010 01:44

    This is a great post. I have to agree, there is a certain feeling you gain from fashion blogging. Its almost like you have to carry on an entire different set of standards for yourself as opposed to every other person who doesn’t necessarily blog. Its almost as if you get this sense that you should never have an off day.
    I honestly don’t tell many people in my everyday life that I’m a fashion blogger, because, of course, there is the possible negative image of being shallow and materialistic that can be drawn from it. Its also an issue because majority of the people I know do not take a similar interest in fashion and don’t understand the importance of it. So ultimately, they’d likely think I’m just weird. I continue though because I truly enjoy what I do.

    • April 21, 2010 08:18

      I know exactly how you feel. But I think a lot of these ideas were already instilled in my head. Before I even started blogging I felt the need to look good every day, just for myself, but do often feel now like I have to prove myself.
      I’ve always been pretty vain though. I get really upset if my hair and makeup won’t go right!!
      See I use facebook to plug my blog, and all my friends on there are my real life friends. I’m always really shocked how many people are like “oh yeah, I read your blog”, but I do seem to get about 300 hits for ever post just from facebook, so someone must be reading it!!
      I do often feel a little embarrassed about it, and I am quite sensitive about it. I worry people think “she isn’t that stylish. why does she think she is?” but I love blogging. I lot that I’ve finally found something that I really love to do. And I won’t let other people’s opinions stop me.

      xxx

Leave a Reply

